Starting my journey as a web developer.

Starting my journey as a web developer.

·

5 min read

I am born with the desire to contribute to the well being of people. Therefore, I needed a track that will help me to continue doing so.

The idea to use web development to build my carrier was inspired by my bosom friend Raymond. We walked through the same path of electrical and electronics engineers. We programmed electronics chips and built projects that meet up with the current demand of society. We didn't have much support to continue in that direction. I moved to work a contract in an electricity distribution company while he worked in an oil company. The desire to do something extraordinary didn't stop in him. He thought that migration to web development would open the door to many opportunities. He also found that most of the resources we strived for as chip programmers are made available as developers. He quit his job to embark on web development. Although he wanted us to go together, I couldn't quit my job because of the responsibilities I shouldered. However, my job at that time did not give me the satisfaction I needed. I found it hard to do the things I want to do because of lack of freedom or finance. I made plans for a sustainable income, which took me some time before I finally resigned in March 2020.

As a beginner in website development, I encountered many challenges that could have been more damaging if Ray was not there to assist me. He provided me with all the learning materials I needed for the journey. The need for a consistent power supply and internet connection became much more demanding. People challenged my decision to quit my job in learning programming. I tried to cope with all these and still learn along. Thinking that I could finish learning everything within a short space of time was another big challenge I faced. That anticipation alone got me disappointed as I continue to watch my clock while learning, just to discover that I am still unable to center a div. It was quite uneasy but I have also learned to be easy on myself.

If you are out there dreaming of becoming a web developer one day, I'm grateful for you. My advice to you are:

  • Be sure of what you want to do and follow it up. One of my best quotes by Abraham GrahamBell says, "concentrate all your efforts upon the work at hand, the sun does not burn until when brought to focus". I learned that consistency matters in every carrier path especially when you have to deal with computer programs. It will help you to contain whatever you have learned.

  • Be patient with yourself. Have goals but have SMART goals. If you didn't meet up, do not consider yourself incompetent or incapable. Provided there is progress, just keep adding efforts, things will fall in their place. If you have any opportunity to attend any tech seminars, whether virtual or real, do not miss out. There you will find other people who share the same dreams as you.

There are still many more to this but the first thing is making up your mind to start, other things will fall in place. When you finally start, know that every piece of information you need is already made available for you by people worldwide. To any of your one question, there are multiple answers to it. Do not hesitate to use google search for asking your questions. No matter how vague, google will help you make meaning out of it. However, the clearer your questions, the better the solutions.

I will always keep you updated as I move. Thank you!